(949) 388-0313

Follow The Light 2020


Follow the Light in Memory of Larry “Flame” Moore looks to shine the spotlight on next generation of surf photographers

The Surfing Heritage and Culture Center (SHACC) has announced the 2020 Follow the Light (FTL) grant program for aspiring surf photographers.

Following its successful return in 2019 after a five-year hiatus, FTL has ushered in a whole new generation of outstanding surf photographers. Last year there were nearly 100 submissions from lensmen and women from around the world.

“The 2019 FTL program has had a profound impact on my career,” said Nick Green from Hobart, Tasmania, the winner of the 2019 FTL grant. “I’ve had doors open that I didn’t even know existed, and the support and encouragement I’ve gotten has made me even more committed to doing this thing that I love” he concluded.”

Recognizing that the arena in which surf photographers work today has changed dramatically since Flame was at the helm of Surfing Magazine, the FTL committee has rededicated itself to helping rising stars get their start in the business and develop the tools and relationships necessary to take their careers to the next level.

“It’s not easy to be a surf photographer today, but it’s vitally important to the sport and culture that it continues to be documented and celebrated through photography,” said Shawn Parkin, photo editor of The Surfer’s Journal, and former Follow the Light winner. “It’s exciting to see Follow the Light continue as a platform for young photographers to showcase their work and be recognized for it.”

In keeping with the tradition of FTL, the grant winner will receive a minimum $5,000 award and a working opportunity with supporting brand sponsors. The global competition is open to anyone 16-25, with the winner selected from a pool of five finalists.

“It’s an incredible honor for SHACC to present Follow the Light,” said FTL committee chair Don Meek. “Flame was responsible for launching so many careers and supporting so many talented young photographers. We had a truly successful return in 2019 and we’re beyond stoked to continue his legacy here in 2020.”

The entry window will open on April 1, 2020, with the submission deadline of June 26, 2020. The FTL event and awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, September 10, 2020 at the Ocean Institute in Dana Point, CA.

Sign up for the 2020 FTL Program here

Subscribe to the SHACC Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our SHACC team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!